At midday on Thursday May 6, the Diocesan Secretary announced the result of the second vote taken at the Archbishop Election Synod on Wednesday night.

Delegates met at the International Convention Centre in Darling Harbour and considered Dean Kanishka Raffel and Bishop Michael Stead, the two names left after the first round of voting.

Only one nominee proceeded to the final select list, Dean Kanishka Raffel. (see the announcement of voting here)

The Election Synod will vote tonight on whether to invite the Dean to be the next Archbishop of Sydney.