Prominent Anglicans honoured

russell powell

More information

Have we missed anyone? Please email us.

It's an Honour website

Read Prominent Anglicans honoured

The Reverend Dr David Claydon and Lawyer Garth Blake are among Sydney Anglicans named on the 2018 Australia Day Honours list. 

Included in the list are 641 recipients of awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia who have been recognised for contributions and service to fellow citizens in Australia and internationally.

Mr Blake has been a significant figure in the development of safe ministry policies across the Anglican Church in Australia for many years. He has chaired the Professional Standards Commission since 2005 and chaired the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Working Group, since 2012.  He has served on both the General Synod and Sydney Synod since the 1990’s. He was Diocesan Advocate from 1995 to 2003 and has also been involved in human rights, Episcopal Standards and Freedom of Religion working groups. Mr Blake was made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia, particularly to child protection policy and professional standards, and to the law.

Dr Claydon, who has served in various Sydney parishes and who is a Canon Emeritus Of St Andrew’s Cathedral Sydney and Canon of All Saints Cathedral, Cairo, was awarded the medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the Anglican Church of Australia, to inter-faith relations, and to refugees. Dr Claydon served as International Director of the Lausanne Committee for World Evangelization ( Lausanne Movement) from 2002-2004 and has been a senior adviser from 2004. He also chairs the Dealing with Diversity Conference, which comprises heads of churches from a range of denominations which meet with Federal politicians to inform them about value-based religions which have come to Australia with migrants. He also chairs the Persecuted Minorities Advocacy and Integration Committee of the Barnabas Fund. 

Former Liberal MP, the Honourable John Ryan, was named on the AM list for significant service to the Parliament of New South Wales, and to public administration, particularly the development of accommodation policy for people with a disability. Mr Ryan has been a member of St John's Anglican Church, Camden, since 1992 and is Chairman of Christian Youth Hostels Limited. An advocate for Western Sydney, Mr Ryan is active in his local church and youth services organisations. John Ryan AM

Other Anglicans in Sydney made Members of the Order of Australia (AM) this year include Christopher Russell, awarded for significant service to agricultural science and technology through advisory, developmental and research roles, and as a mentor and innovator. Mr Russell has been a member of St John's Church Council in Gordon, since 2009 and Warden, since 2013, as well as serving on the council of Barker College.

In the category, Medal of the Order of Australia, (OAM), David Sansoni , the choral conductor and Co-Director at St Paul’s Castle Hill for more than 10 years was named for service to the community of Baulkham Hills.

Kenneth Bock was named for service to the community. Mr Bock has been a Diocesan Reader  for over 40 years and is a member of the Parish of Epping, where he has served as warden and treasurer. 

Peter Janssen, of Lindfield, was awarded an OAM for service to conservation and the environment.

Heather Gwilliam, the Anglicare Regional Manager of Disaster Recovery in Western Sydney, was awarded an OAM for  service to the community through a range of organisations. 

Edna Walton, the Treasurer and Church Warden of St Stephens Anglican Church for many years, was recognised with an OAM for service to the community of Portland, near Lithgow.

Chaplain honoured

Anglican Chaplain Air Commodore Kevin Russell was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross for outstanding achievement in chaplaincy reform in the Royal Australian Air Force.

Air Commodore Russell retired as Director General RAAF Chaplaincy in December. Air Commodore Kevin Russell

"To all recipients, I offer my deepest congratulations, admiration and respect for your contribution to our nation," the Governor-General and Chancellor of the Order of Australia, Sir Peter Cosgrove, said.

"We are fortunate as a community to have so many outstanding people willing to dedicate themselves to the betterment of our nation and it is only fitting that they have today been recognised through the Australian Honours system.

Main Photo: (l-r) Dr David Claydon, Mr Garth Blake. Special thanks to Ramon Williams of Worldwide Photos for all photos and assistance in preparing this report. Kevin Russell photo courtesy Defence Anglicans



Read Is democracy broken?

Is democracy broken?
Southern Cross

Worth investigating? More information and promotional downloads here.