Anglicans are among the Sydney recipients of Australia Day honours, including two professors of medicine for their roles in the COVID-19 response.

The honours are awarded by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Council of the Order of Australia.
Professor Julie-Anne Leask was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to health and medical research, to policy advice and to enhancing community understanding of immunisation.

Professor Charlotte Hespe was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to general medicine as a practitioner, academic and mentor. Both women, members of Sydney Anglican churches, were also named on the COVID-19 honour roll announced at this year’s awards.

Above: Professor Hespe speaking to Sydney Anglicans during the first phase of COVID.

Julian Bickersteth of Wahroonga was also made an AO for distinguished service to the museum and arts sector, and to conservation and the environment. Mr Bickersteth is a member and former warden of St James’, Turramurra.

Pioneering educator, Dr Stuart Quarmby was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to primary and secondary education. Dr Quarmby was the Foundation Headmaster of Wollondilly Anglican College from 2004 to 2020 and previously Deputy Head of Broughton Anglican College.

A church treasurer for 18 years at St Philip’s, Caringbah, Adrian Jackson, has also been given the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM). Mr Jakson is also a former member of the Shoalhaven Anglican School council and was administrative officer of Danebank Anglican School for Girls. He is a trustee and treasurer of the Katoke Trust for Overseas Aid.

In related Australia Day awards, Angus Olsen – a member of St Hilda’s, Katoomba – won the NSW Local Hero award for his work with childhood cancer as an illustrator and fundraiser.

Read more about Angus’s work in our 2021 Feature story here.

Have we missed anyone? Let us know.